Share this page

Rate and suggest improvements:
Feedback (optional):

About the HSK

The HSK is offered at three levels; Elementary, Intermediate and Advanced. Previously the exam had a Basic level, but this has been removed.

Each exam has five sections:

Listening and Reading (Which covers Hanzi and Vocabulary), Writing, Speaking and Grammar.

Apart from speaking, and the writing section, which requires characters to be written, the whole exam is multiple choice.

HSK Exam
Test content summary
Level Hanzi Vocabulary
Elementary 1603 3052
Intermediate 2194 5257
Advanced 2865 8840